God Promises: “I Will Deliver You” Exodus 6:1-8

People frequently wonder why things are the way they are?” We see this manifested in questions like: “Why do people have so much hatred for one another? Why was a young child killed by a gunman? Why is there so much evil in the world?” Even believers question God as we wonder, “Why our lives are the way they are?” For example, why are there so many believers who face heavy persecution; some have surrendered everything leaving their homes to serve God in distant lands only to face hostility from those they are seeking to minister to. And “Why” is the question many of us ask of God in prayer. Why Lord, why?

Moses asked God why things are the way they are in the text we dealt with last time. Recall that Moses had finally answered God’s call to speak to Pharaoh declaring, “Thus says the Lord God of Israel: ‘Let My people go, that they may hold a feast to Me in the wilderness.’ But Pharaoh would have none of it, and instead of letting the people go, he only made things worse for the Israelites increasing their burdens and labor! The Israelite foremen rebelled, bringing judgment upon Moses. These things led Moses to ask God why, in Exodus 5:22:23, “Lord, why have You brought trouble on this people? Why is it You have sent me? For since I came to Pharaoh to speak in Your name, he has done evil to this people; neither have You delivered Your people at all.”  If we were in the same place as Moses, we can be sure that we would have asked similar questions of God.

In our text for this Sunday, Exodus 6:1-8, God answers Moses’ questions, although in a manner Moses may not have expected, by declaring what He is about to do. First in verse 1, God declares that He is in control, telling Moses that He is the sovereign, not Pharaoh, and that Pharaoh will not only let them go, but he will drive them out! In verse 2 God declares, “I am the LORD;” and in vs 3-5 God proclaims His covenant with Israel. Finally, in verses 6-8, God tells Moses what He will do. There are seven “I wills:”

          I will bring you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians,

          I will rescue you from their bondage,

          I will redeem you with an outstretched arm and with great judgments.

          I will take you as My people,

          I will be your God.

          I will bring you into the land which I swore to give to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob; –

          and I will give it to you as a heritage:

Our text ends with the repeated declaration of verse 2 “I am the Lord.”

This week please read and meditate on these verses, and as you do, behold your God!

Leave a Reply

